Interacting with Immersive Worlds II – Call for Papers Deadline February 2

CALL FOR PAPERS

Interacting with Immersive Worlds:

Second Brock University Conference on the Interactive Arts & Sciences

Brock University, St. Catharines, Ontario

JUNE 15-16, 2009

The first Interacting with Immersive Worlds conference was held in the beautiful Niagara Peninsula at Brock University in June of 2007. Presenters and attendees from a multiplicity of disciplines heard keynote presentations by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (Claremont Graduate University), James Gee (Arizona State University), Chris Csikszentmihalyi (MIT Media Laboratory), and Denis Dyack (Silicon Knights). The 2009 conference will be just as provocative, with keynote speakers such as Janet Murray (Georgia Institute of Technology) and Espen Aarseth (IT University of Denmark), so be sure to electronically submit your abstracts to the program committee by February 2, 2009.

The primary focus of the conference is to explore the growing cultural importance of interactive media. All scholarship on, and creation of digital interactive media (including but not limited to computer games and interactive fiction) will be considered in one of four broad conference streams:

The Challenges at the Boundaries of Immersive Worlds stream features creative exploration and innovation in immersive media including ubiquitous computing, telepresence, interactive art and fiction, and alternative reality.

The Critical Approaches to Immersion stream looks at analyses of the cultural and/or psychological impact of immersive worlds, as well as theories of interactivity.

The Immersive Worlds in Education stream examines educational applications of immersive technologies.

The Immersive Worlds in Entertainment stream examines entertainment applications of immersive technologies, such as computer games.
We welcome the submission of abstracts for a 20-minute presentation plus a 10-minute discussion. Send a 500-word abstract plus a brief biographical statement. Please include a separate cover page with the following:

· Author’s name and affiliation

· Email

· Mailing address

· Title of presentation

Since all abstracts will be anonymously reviewed, include the title of the paper on the abstract but not the author’s name, affiliation, email or mailing address. Deadline extended – deadline for receipt of abstracts is February 2, 2009.

Please email your abstract to jmitterer@brocku.ca

Acceptance of your paper for presentation implies a commitment on your part to register and attend the conference. Notification of acceptance will be sent out by February 15, 2009.

Visit the conference web site for details

http://www.brocku.ca/iasc/immersiveworlds/

Organizing Committee:

Jean Bridge, Centre for Digital Humanities, Brock University, jbridge@brocku.ca

Martin Danahay, Department of English Language and Literature, Brock University,

mdanahay@brocku.ca

Denis Dyack, Silicon Knights, Catharines, Ontario, denis@siliconknights.ca

Barry Grant, Department of Communication, Popular Culture and Film, bgrant@brocku.ca

David Hutchison, Faculty of Education, Brock University, davidh@brocku.ca

Kevin Kee, Department of History, Brock University kkee@brocku.ca

John Mitterer, Department of Psychology, Brock University, jmitterer@brocku.ca

Michael Winter, Department of Computer Science, Brock University, mwinter@brocku.ca

Philip Wright, Information Technology Services, Brock University, philip.wright@brocku.ca

Advertisements